Impact

Incubator

FAQ

Reappointed as an Intermediary of the Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund in early 2020 , the Hong Kong Council of Social Service which operates the Impact Incubator, is a one-stop platform that connects social innovation implementers (SIIs) to knowledge, resources and networks relevant to social welfare agencies, social enterprises, philanthropic foundations, business associations and professional bodies. This platform helps SIIs implement innovative solutions to poverty and social exclusion problems in Hong Kong and drive sustainable impact. During the five years fro 2015 to early 2020, the Impact Incubator supported over 100 social innovation projects, which benefitted more than 22,000 beneficiaries. The Impact Incubator facilitated around HKD100 million grant funding, on behalf of the SIE Fund. Social innovative projects at late prototype, start-up, growing and scale-up stages are eligible to apply.

Approved projects will benefit from a ‘7 Pillars Incubation Package’ which equips social entrepreneurs with the necessary skills and knowledge to better implement their project ideas.

SKILL-BASED TRAINING AND NETWORKING

The Impact Incubator regularly organises a series of business clinics, social innovators’ networking sessions and tutorial classes. Incubatees and the general public can participate in these sessions. Through the participation in these sessions, social entrepreneurs and project practitioners can benefit from mutual sharing of experience and knowledge with our partners and other participants.

Business Clinics

Based on our incubatees’ specific needs, the Impact Incubator will organise essential business skills training. These generally comprise legal, accounting and financial management, and marketing knowledge.

Social Innovators’ Networking Sessions

The latest trends and information of selected topics will be shared during the social innovators’ networking sessions. Incubatees, NGO practitioners, social policy practitioners and other related stakeholders will be invited to join these exchange sessions to share their observations and new solutions. Through these networking sessions, we also aim to connect incubatees to useful resources and business partners.

Tutorial Classes

These tutorial classes allow incubatees to better understand the progress reports and financial reporting requirements and format, as required by the SIE Fund every six months. These classes will share specific insight.

*It is compulsory for incubatees to attend at least one business clinic or one social innovators’ networking session, and one tutorial class during the funding period.

TAILOR-MADE CONSULTATION SUPPORT

Consultation support

Tailor-made consultation support will be provided to incubatees. Experienced business and sector consultants will offer strategic advice and hands-on solutions. Approved late prototype projects will benefit from 20 hours’ consultation support. Approved projects at start-up, growing and scale-up stages will benefit from 50 hours’ consultation support.

Support from Impact Incubator team

The Impact Incubator team will offer not only administrative support but also specific consultancy services, particularly on project structuring and management.

IMPACT ASSESSMENT SUPPORT

There will be regular social impact assessment workshops. It is compulsory for incubatees to attend these workshops, so that they will understand more about their projects’ social impact and gain overall knowledge about social impact assessment. We will also compile an impact assessment question bank and implement an impact assessment support scheme for our incubatees. Through participating in these activities, incubatees will understand how to present their projects’ impact to their stakeholders.

NETWORKING WITH FUNDERS AND INVESTORS

There will be a pitching event each year, with potential funders / investors invited as panel judges. Selected incubatees will be invited to pitch their projects to the panel. Hence, incubatees will receive relevant advice and suggestions from the panel to improve their projects.

PRO-BONO AND LOW-BONO BUSINESS SUPPORT SERVICES

We have an extensive network of corporations and professional organisations who are eager to offer business advice to incubatees. We also have strong connections with industry experts which can refer useful connections to incubatees.

PROJECT MANAGEMENT SUPPORT

The Impact Incubator team will provide constant support and tutorial classes to the incubatees. Based on incubatees’ specific needs, we will aim to refer incubatees to useful resources, such as company secretarial services, audit firm and other relevant business networks.

MEDIA AND MARKETING

Suitable incubatees may be featured in the HKCSS Channel, which will be shared with our members, partners and collaborators. We will also invite suitable incubatees to attend various events organised by HKCSS and the SIE Fund Secretariat to present their projects and exchange with other related stakeholders. We will also share incubatees’ key features and updates with our major partners, either via our website or other on-line channels.

The Impact Incubator accepts all applications, which align with the funding objectives of the SIE Fund to prevent and alleviate poverty and social exclusion.

The SIE Fund will fund projects at different stages of development, including Late Prototype, Start-up, Growing and Scale-up. Eligible applications are those made by individuals (which is only applicable to Late Prototype projects), by organisations, or companies limited by guarantee or shares, and are registered in Hong Kong.

ELIGIBILITY

LATE PROTOTYPE

Hong Kong permanent residents aged 18 years or above, or organisations and companies limited by guarantee or limited by shares, and registered in Hong Kong

START-UP

Organisations and companies limited by guarantee or limited by shares, and registered in Hong Kong

GROWING

Organisations and companies limited by guarantee or limited by shares, and registered in Hong Kong

SCALE-UP

Organisations and companies limited by guarantee or limited by shares, and registered in Hong Kong

Projects at different stages of development, will have different funding requirements over variable funding period. These are:

  • Late Prototype projects are eligible for a maximum* grant of HKD 300,000. The maximum project period is 18 months.
  • Start-up, growing and scale-up projects are not subject to a funding cap. However, a 50% matching fund^ is required for each of these categories. The maximum project period is 3 years for all three stages.

*If the budget exceeds HKD200,000, an in-person interview will be conducted

^The matching Fund excludes SIE Fund and all other HKSAR Government funding. It can be in-cash or in-kind. The matching fund amount will be subject to relevant terms and conditions and require prior written approval.

Each of Late Prototype, Start-up, Growing and Scale-up is briefly explained below:

LATE PROTOTYPE

A social project or social enterprise with a solid prototype that has been alpha-tested. The project’s owner/founder intends to commercialise and launch the prototype to market.

START-UP

A social project or social enterprise whose prototype has already been tested and launched to market. The project’s owner/founder has a business model to support the project.

GROWING

A social project or social enterprise which has demonstrated a track record in performance and social impact with recurring income, and has potential for steady growth.

SCALE-UP

A social project or social enterprise which has already demonstrated impact and sustainability. The project’s owner/ founder has a commercial framework to further develop and scale the business.

We accept applications registered in an individual's name (this is only applicable to Late Prototype applications), in an organisation's or a company's name. The Impact Incubator aims to target the following:

  • Social entrepreneurs who aim to adopt sustainable business solutions to address poverty and social exclusion issues.
  • Social intra-preneurs from the NGO or private sectors, who aim to mobilise internal resources for social good
  • Social innovators who aim to adopt creative approaches to addressing social needs

The Impact Incubator accepts applications all year round, from February 2020 to June 2022. Applicants can register an online account on the Impact Incubator's website, and submit their proposals and required documents through the online system. Please contact usif there are any enquiries.

Yes. Applications in the name of individual, organisation or a company registered in Hong Kong will be accepted. Please refer to Question 4.

Social enterprises with business models or social innovation programmes without business models are welcome to apply to the Impact Incubator. Please refer to Question 7.

All applications will be assessed and evaluated by the Impact Incubator team, Joint Vetting Committee and/or Proposal Assessment Committee. Vetting criteria includes:

  • Vision and social impact
  • Project management and execution
  • Innovativeness
  • Team Capability
  • Cost Effectiveness

All individuals and/or interested parties are welcome to join Impact Incubator’s training programmes, however, priority will be given to successful incubatees.

When applicants submit applications for Start-up, Growing and Scale-up projects, they will be required to secure not less than 50% of their total funds applied as matching funds, before their application is accepted. The ratio of grant funding applied to matching funds is 1:1.

In general, matching funds mean any initial capital, excluding SIE Fund and other HKSAR Government funding. Matching funds can be in-cash or in-kind e.g. rental and equipment sponsorship. The applicant should submit documents to support the in-kind valuation. The matching fund amount will be subject to relevant terms and condition and will be confirmed after approval.

If the matching fund comprises any in-kind sponsorship, applicants will need to provide documents or material to support the in-kind valuation. When the application is approved, applicants will need to provide a written commitment to evidence matching funds have been secured. Please also refer to Question 13.

When the incubatee signs the agreement with the Trustees of the SIE Fund, the incubatee will be required to deposit the matching fund amount (either in full or in part) into the incubatee’s designated account. This is required before SIE Fund disburses the SIE Fund grant.

The Impact Incubator team will aim to help shortlisted applicants solicit external funding sources for matching fund purposes. We do not guarantee success in each case, but we will endeavour to facilitate as much as possible.

The entire vetting time depends on the completeness of application materials submitted by the applicant (please check the document checklist). After the preliminary assessment, the applicant will receive an initial response, comment or suggestion from the relevant Vetting Committee. The applicant may also be required to revise the proposal, budget and/or to provide other supplementary documents. Generally, the applicant will receive an initial response or initial result by email, within 50-60 working days after the application deadline. However, this might take longer if the applicant’s documents are incomplete or there are additional queries during the vetting process.

In general, the SIE Fund grant funding can be used in 1) Capital expenditures and 2) Operating deficit. For further details, please refer to “How to apply – Funding Objectives”.

Successful incubatees should generally be self-sustainable. If the funded incubatee generates net profits during the funded project period, not less than 65% of the incubatee's distributable profits have to be re-invested into the business or project, with prior consent from the Impact Incubator team and the SIE Fund Task Force. Hence, no more than 35% of the funded incubatee's distributable profits can be distributed to the incubatee's shareholders.

Applicants have to submit all required documents and confirm that all information provided is valid. Otherwise the application will not be processed. The incubatee’s responsible project owner/management team has to sign the Grant Agreement with the Trustees of the SIE Fund and the Intermediary. The responsible project owner/management team is responsible for implementing the funded project according to the social and financial objectives stated in the signed agreement.

The agreement will list out detailed responsibilities eg the incubatee will be required to submit Progress / Final Reports and Financial Reports according to the schedules of the agreement.

REMARKS: based on the signed agreement version.

Please also refer to the document checklist for details. The following documents shall be required for an application:

  • Fully completed application form
  • Proposal
  • Budget Plan
  • Signed Declaration form (Declaring if the project is currently applying for, or accepting a grant from another government or another organisation)
  • Corporate governance (CG) plan (except for individual applicants)
  • Registration documents e.g. Business Registration Certificate, Certificate of Incorporation and Articles of Association, etc.
  • Documentary proof of matching funds and / or sponsorship from other sources (for Start-up, Growing and Scale-up stages)

The same business proposal cannot be re-submitted. However, we welcome the applicant submit a new proposal after making certain amendments.

Yes, the applicant can submit more than one application at any given time, but each application needs to be different.

Please feel free to contact us during the office hours (09:00-17:30) from Monday to Friday.

During the incubatee's funding period, each incubatee will be assigned an experienced consultant to support the funded project's progress and implementation plan. After the grant funding period ends, the Impact Incubator team will aim to provide appropriate support, subject to the incubatee's needs at that time.

If you have any enquiry, please contact us as follows.

Phone: 28762492
Email: info@socialinnovation.org.hk
Website: http://www.socialinnovation.org.hk

The Impact Incubator's office hours are from Monday to Friday (09:00-17:30). The office is closed on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays. To schedule a meeting, please contact us in advance.

創匯點

Impact

Incubator

常見問題

香港社會服務聯會於2020年再次獲扶貧委員會轄下社會創新及創業發展基金委任為協創機構,開展創匯點 Impact Incubator 一站式支援平台,連繫社會創業家與有相關知識、資源和網絡之社福機構、社企、基金會、商界及專業團體,並幫助社會創業家實施其創新項目以解決香港的貧窮和社會孤立問題,推動持續性的社會效益。由2015年至今,創匯點 Impact Incubator已支援逾百個社會創新項目,創效投資金額接近港幣1億元,受惠人數多達2萬2千人。創匯點 Impact Incubator會資助與支援不同類型及發展階段的創新項目,如成熟原型、創業、成長及擴大規模。

獲資助項目將經歷「7Ps 培育七部曲」,學習所需知識及技能,更有效地實踐方案。

能力建設培訓活動及業界交流平台

創匯點 Impact Incubator會定期舉辦一系列的企業診所、業界交流活動及實用技巧課程,獲資助項目及公眾人士均可參加。透過以上活動,社會創業家與項目實踐者均能從社聯的合作夥伴及其他參加者身上獲得相關經驗與知識。

企業診所

提供實用商務工作坊,如以法律知識、會計、財務管理、市場推廣等為主題的各類型培訓課程。

業界交流平台

交流活動均設有不同的主題,參加者能獲得相關主題的最新資訊及趨勢。獲資助項目、非政府機構人員、社會政策倡議者及其他相關持份者均或受邀出席,相互交流意見和見解。我們希望透過業界交流活動,連繫社會創業家與相關的持份者,有效運用資源。

實用技巧課程

實用技巧課程幫助獲資助項目了解每半年須繳交予社創基金的進度報告及財務報告的要求,如內容及格式等。創匯點 Impact Incubator會提供實用的相關技巧。

**獲資助項目須在項目獲資助期間,參加最少一個業界交流活動或企業診所及一次實用技巧課程。

商業顧問的全方位支援

顧問諮詢服務

創匯點 Impact Incubator將會提供度身訂造的顧問諮詢服務。資深商業顧問和行業顧問將會提供策略及營運上的意見。獲資助的成熟原型項目將會獲得20小時的顧問服務;而創業、成長及擴大規模階段的受資助項目將獲得50小時的顧問服務。

創匯點 Impact Incubator團隊的項目支援

創匯點 Impact Incubator團隊將會提供行政支援,並在計劃框架及項目管理方面提供意見。

社會效益評估支援

社會效益評估工作坊將定期舉行,讓獲資助項目更清晰其項目之效益,提升他們對社會效益評估的整體認識,所有獲資助項目必須出席。我們建構了效益評估題庫予獲資助項目和提供社會效益評估支援計劃,希望獲資助項目能清晰及有效地向持份者展現其項目的社會效益。

與基金會及投資者交流平台

Pitching 活動將定期舉行,並邀請基金會成員或投資者為評審團隊。適合的獲資助項目將會在活動中簡介其項目,而評審團隊會提出的意見和建議。

免費或優惠的商業支援服務

我們擁有廣泛的企業及專業團體網絡,能夠為獲資助項目提供免費或優惠的商業支援服務,亦可連繫獲資助項目與行業專家,提供專業服務。

項目管理支援

創匯點 Impact Incubator團隊會提供涵蓋由申請至項目完成的支援服務,並舉辦實用技巧課程。此外,我們會轉介實用資源和網絡予獲資助項目,如文書處理服務、會計師事務所等。

媒體及推廣

社聯頻道會採訪和報導合適的獲資助項目,並分享予社聯的會員機構、合作夥伴等相關人士。我們也會邀請適合的獲資助項目參加由社聯及社創基金專責小組所舉辦的活動,讓獲資助項目有機會向更多相關持份者簡介其項目及與相關人士交流。每個獲資助項目的資料亦會上載至創匯點 Impact Incubator 網站,並定期分享予合作夥伴。

創匯點 Impact Incubator接受所有符合社創基金目標以達致扶貧、防貧、防止社會孤立的創新項目申請。

社創基金會資助不同階段項目的發展,包括成熟原型 (Late Prototype)、創業 (Start-up) 、成長 (Growing) 及擴大規模 (Scale-up)。申請者可就不同階段的要求以個人 (只限成熟原型)、於本地註冊的有限公司及團體的名義申請。

申請資格

成熟原型 LATE PROTOTYPE

年滿18歲之香港永久性居民或於本地註冊的有限公司及團體

創業 START-UP

於本地註冊的有限公司及團體

成長 GROWING

於本地註冊的有限公司及團體

擴大規模 SCALE-UP

於本地註冊的有限公司及團體

不同階段的項目設有不同的補助金額和資助期,詳情如下:

  • 「 成熟原型」項目最高*補助金額為港幣$ 300,000,最長項目實施期為18個月。
  • 「創業」項目配對金額沒有上限,唯必須連結不少於50%配對基金^。最長項目實施期3年。
  • 「成長」項目配對金額沒有上限,唯必須連結不少於50%配對基金^。最長項目實施期3年。
  • 「 擴大規模」項目配對金額沒有上限,唯必須連結不少於50%配對基金。最長項目實施期3年。

*若您的項目預算超過港幣$200,000,您須向評審簡介項目理念及接受評委提問。

^配對基金指社創基金及香港特區政府轄下所有基金以外的起動資金配對基金包括現金或實物形式,如租金或設備的贊助,申請人須遞交文件以証明其價值,配對金額受有關條款約束並以審批後作準。

以下是三個階段的概括描述:

成熟原型PROTOTYPE

項目已測試其可行性並有意推出市場。

創業START-UP

項目經過測試並已推出市場,且有商業模式。

成長 GROWING

項目已用商業模式推出市場,達致一定程度的成效和社會效益,有持續收入,冀進一步發展。

擴大規模 SCALE-UP

項目已有穩定的收入及顯著社會效益,並以商業模式擴大發展規模。

我們接受以個人 (只限成熟原型) 、團體或公司名義的申請,目標對象包括:

  • 以可持續的商業方案解決貧窮問題的社會創業家
  • 來自非政府團體或商界的社會創業家,透過運用機構內部資源推動社會創新
  • 構思及採用具創意的方案以滿足社會需要的社會創構者

創匯點 Impact Incubator 於2020年2月至2022年6月期間接受申請。申請人可透創匯點 Impact Incubator網站登記一個申請帳戶,並於網上提交計劃書及所需的資料。如有疑問,歡迎與我們聯絡

可以,我們歡迎申請者以個人、團體或公司的名義申請社創基金。詳情請參閱第4題

我們歡迎抱有社會目標並以商業模式營運的社會企業申請社創基金,亦接受沒有商業成份的社會創新計劃。詳情請參第7題

所有的項目申請均由創匯點 Impact Incubator、協創機構及專責小組聯合審核委員會及/或社創基金項目申請評審委員負責進行審核。評審準則主要包括:

  • 願景與社會效益
  • 項目管理與實踐
  • 創新性
  • 團隊執行能力
  • 成本效益

我們歡迎有興趣申請社創基金的人士參與創匯點 Impact Incubator的培訓活動。名額有限,個別活動只供受資助項目參加。

申請者在提交「創業」、「成長」及「擴大規模」三個階段項目的申請前,須表示已獲配對基金提供者承諾提供不少於項目總預算之50%的資助 (以配對基金和配對補助金的最高比例1比1計算)。

一般而言,配對基金指除社創基金及其他香港特區政府的資助計劃以外的起動資金。配對基金可以現金和/或實物形式資助,如租金、設備的贊助。申請者須須遞交文件以證明其價值,而配對金額則受有關條款約束並以審批後作準。

申請者在提交「創業」、「成長」及「擴大規模」三個階段項目的申請前,須表示已獲配對基金提供者承諾提供不少於總項目預算之50%的資助 (以配對資金和配對補助金的最高比例1比1計算)。若配對基金包含以實物形式的資助,申請者須遞交文件以證明其價值。計劃獲批核後,申請者須在簽定補助金協議書前提供配對基金提供者的書面承諾。協議書簽定後,申請者須在社創基金發放補助金前,提供收訖配對基金﹝整筆或按補助金發放比例計算的部分﹞的憑證。

我們會協助入選的項目,按其申請的資助金額及社會目標尋找配對基金。

審批時間視乎申請者遞交申請所需的資料是否齊備 (請查閱所需資料的清單)。遴選結束後,申請者會接獲創匯點 Impact Incubator的初步回覆及建議,或需要進一步修改項目計劃書、財務預算或提交其他補充文件。一般情況下,社聯會於申請截止日期後的50至60個工作天內以電郵公佈初步審核結果。

一般而言,社創基金的資助可用以1)支付資本開支 及2)補貼營運虧損。詳情請查閱於「申請須知」內的「有關基金」成本開支的涵蓋範圍一欄。

我們期望項目可以持續經營,如受資助的項目錄得盈利,可在創匯點 Impact Incubator及社創基金同意下將不少於65%的可分配盈利再投放於該項目,即不多於35%的可分配盈利分配予股東。

項目申請者須提交所需文件及確保所提供的資料真確無誤,否則申請將不獲處理。獲批項目負責人/團隊需與社創基金及協創機構(社聯)簽署補助金協議書,根據建議書上承諾的社會目標及財務目標落實執行項目,並按時提交項目進度報告、財務報告、效益評估報告以及委派代表出席最少三個培訓活動,包括「社會效益評估工作坊」、「實用技巧課程」及「企業診所」或「業界交流活動」。

註: 以簽署協議書版本為準。

有關申請所需的資料如下:

  • 網上申請表
  • 項目計劃書
  • 財務預算
  • 已簽署的申請紀錄表 (申報項目現時有否申請或接受政府或其他機構的撥款)
  • 企業管治計劃 (以個人名義申請的申請者除外)
  • 註冊文件,例如商業登記證、公司註冊證書,公司組織章程等
  • 配對基金證明文件 (適用於創業、成長及擴大規模階段的申請)

相同計劃書不可以重複提交但我們歡迎申請者作出適當修訂後,提交新的申請計劃書。

申請團體或公司可提交多於一份申請計劃書,但項目內容不能重覆。

歡迎閣下以電郵或於星期一至五的辦公時間內 (09:00-17:30) 致電與我們聯絡

在計劃期內,每個受資助的項目將獲社聯委派的資深顧問跟進該項目進度。在項目培育期結束後,社會企業商務中心亦會提供適切的後續支援。

如有任何查詢,可透過以下途徑與我們聯絡。

電話:2876 2492
電郵:info@socialinnovation.org.hk
網址:http://www.socialinnovation.org.hk

辦公時間為星期一至五 09:00-13:00; 14:00-17:30。星期六、日及公眾假期休息。